The Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) is a new scheme for recognising excellent teaching, in addition to existing national quality requirements for universities, colleges and other higher education providers.

Under the scheme, the RVC has received a gold award -  the highest rating a university can receive! This is valid for up to three years from June 2017 - see the press release: It's gold for the RVC as the results of the TEF are announced.

Read the TEF Panel's assessment of the RVC: Statement of findings (PDF)

For the full list of results see Office for Students TEF Outcomes

Which HE institutions are assessed by TEF?

The TEF was developed by the Department for Education in England. While higher education policy is a devolved matter, individual higher education providers in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are also able to take part if they wish to.

Participating higher education providers receive a gold, silver or bronze award reflecting the excellence of their teaching, learning environment and student outcomes.

What do the awards cover?

The awards cover undergraduate teaching. The Government introduced the TEF in 2016 as a trial year, from which lessons will be learned for future years.

The results were published in June 2017.

What do the gold, silver and bronze awards mean?

A provider taking part in the TEF is awarded:

  • gold for delivering consistently outstanding teaching, learning and outcomes for its students. It is of the highest quality found in the UK
  • silver for delivering high-quality teaching, learning and outcomes for its students. It consistently exceeds rigorous national quality requirements for UK higher education
  • bronze for delivering teaching, learning and outcomes for its students that meet rigorous national quality requirements for UK higher education.

How are the TEF awards decided?

The awards are decided by an independent TEF Panel of experts, including academics, students and employer representatives. See

The provider’s undergraduate teaching is assessed against ten criteria that cover the areas of teaching quality, learning environment and student outcomes. The TEF Panel considers evidence from a set of metrics using national data as well as written evidence submitted by the provider.

The metrics cover continuation rates, student satisfaction and employment outcomes. The metrics for each provider are benchmarked to take account of differences in its students’ characteristics, entry qualifications and subjects studied. View the metrics and provider submissions at 

Top of page